# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PARISH MEETING HELD ON 29th JULY 2021

<u>PRESENT</u>: Cllrs; Greening, Holliday, Lake, Leppard, Pilcher, Seager and Young, together with District Councillor Martin Hibbert, County Councillor David Beaney, Geoff Lymer, Sarah Pegler, Simon and Reece Withey.

**APOLOGIES**: Cllrs: Alfsdotter and Norris

## 1. PRESENTATIONS

The President of Kent Association of Local Councils, Mr John Rivers, presented the 2020 Kent Association of Local Council Community Award to Capel-le-Ferne Youth Club.

The 2021 Kent Association of Local Council Community Award for Long Term Service was also presented to Mrs Maureen Leppard (Parish Clerk) and a Gift presentation, given by the Parish Council (Cllr: Tony Lake) to former Kent County Councillor, Mr Geoff Lymer.

## **Citations:**

<u>Capel-le-Ferne Youth Club</u> - 2020, marks the 40th Anniversary for this group with many adult volunteers, over these years, organising club nights, including numerous outings and events, for our Village Youth of 9+ years. Simon Withey and Sarah Pegler received the certificate on behalf of the group.

Mrs Maureen Leppard (Parish Clerk) - received her certificate, plus flowers and chocolates, for 25 years dedicated service to the Parish Council and Community of Capel by the dissemination of news and events via various social media platforms.

Mr Geof Lymer - former Kent County Councillor of our Ward, was thanked by the Council's Chairman, and presented with a gift of garden vouchers, for many years' services, of advice and assistance to the Parish Council.

#### 2. MINUTES

The Minutes of the last Annual Parish Meeting held on 16<sup>th</sup> April 2019 were approved as a correct record and signed by Cllr: Lake, Chairman. Proposed by Cllr: Greening and Cllrs. Leppard and Holliday.

## 3. **MATTERS ARISING** None

#### 4. CHAIRMAN'S REPORT

Cllr Lake (Chairman) gave his report for the year 2019/2021 to the meeting. (Attached). *Due to Covid, no Annual Parish Meeting held in 2020* 

## 5. **ANY OTHER BUSINESS** None.

## 6. DATE OF NEXT ANNUAL PARISH MEETING

This was confirmed as Tuesday, 19th April 2022.

# Chairman's Report 2019-2021

## Housing development.

The 40 properties in George Close are completed and occupied, mostly by owner occupiers with some DDC tenancies. Issues regarding access to the green space remain unresolved and we await the establishment of the management company with which this council hopes to maintain contact.

The controversial development in Capel Street was given outline permission by DDC but, as yet, we have not seen a reserved matters application.

DDC has consulted on site allocations as the local plan process grinds slowly on.

## Highways.

The 40mph limit on New Dover Road has at last been extended to the junction with Winehouse Lane. A road safety scheme to merge the two uphill lanes further down Dover Hill has not been implemented despite our understanding that is was agreed, designed and funded and indeed new signage showing the change has been installed. We continue discussions with KCC regarding speed limit reminders and flashing signs.

# Speed Watch

Prior to lockdown, Speed Watch was regularly active but ceased until recently with enthusiastic support from previous volunteers and new recruits – all of whom we thank.

## Playing Field/Village Hall.

Enhanced CCTV and remote access to it has enabled Maureen to keep an eye on activities and to report problems to the relevant authorities.

The children's play area and equipment is about to be updated thanks to the hard work of Keith Pilcher and I am sure that he will be happy to report progress later in our meeting.

## Councillors

Since our last Annual Meeting, we have welcomed three new parish councillors. Philippa Seager, Lisa Alfsdotter and returning to the council, Julie Young. We thank Julie Shaw for her valuable contribution to the council.

District Councillor Jamey Rose resigned after two years and Martin Hibbert was elected last week. Geoff Lymer did not stand in the recent County elections and David Beaney was elected.

I would like to thank all our parish councillors for their support over the last two years and on behalf of the council than our Community Warden Janice Henry and PCSO Megan Keehner for their work in the village and David Reed for keeping the village tidy.

Finally particular thanks to Maureen and Keith for their hard work and support during what has recently been a difficult time for Jill and myself.

#### **COUNCILLOR ANTHONY LAKE**